A Poll! A Poll! And Not The Stripper Kind!!!

Hello dear readers!

In lieu of recent, er, mid life crisis’s, I have decided to pursue something completely shocking. You may want to sit down for this announcement because, really, it’s a doozy. What, you ask?

Writing.

I know, I know…why? Right? Who the hell do I think I am, anyway? All of a sudden I’m going to start writing? Sheesh.

No, seriously. I really, really am. And since I have actually been doing it now for a year and a half in this format, I think I shall continue doing it in this format, with some slight changes. And this is where you come in. I need a little guidance, some perspective and possibly a large sum of cash, if you can manage it.

So far I have stayed true to my original post, which basically was an explosion of whatever was going through my mind at the time. I have yet to actually craft a post with a specific intention, and have managed to write as I am experiencing the thing that has motivated me to write. This has come natural to me, yet some readers have asked, “where the hell do you go for two, three weeks at a time?” and I have been advised by some pretty freaking smart people to write more frequently so as not to lose readers. Which is hilarious, because all this time I have felt all comfy with the gaps in between, because I would hate to be a bother. I realize that I am adorable, but people can only take so much. So, now that I am going to take this thing to the next level, I will be writing more.

So, here is a poll. If you are like me, and live for polls, this is right up your alley. If you are a lunatic and dislike polls, well, consider this you tossing me a life saver as I bob up and down, surrounded by great white sharks.

Alright. I may have taken that too far.

Please, answer these honestly and feel free to leave a more detailed comment. This will be a process for me, and any assistance I can get would be greatly appreciated. For starters, PLEASE share my blog with people. Send me in an e-mail (I can lose some weight for this), post me on your wall, suggest to your friends that they “like” my facebook page, actually subscribe to my blog, tell your friends…pimp me people! That is a sentence I will never, ever utter again.

Thanks, every one. If you only knew just how much I appreciate you and your kind words, and knowing that you like me. You really, really like me!

And this concludes this post. Please know that this went unedited, as my dear husband works for a living. I blame any errors completely on him.

4 Comments

Filed under All of them.

4 responses to “A Poll! A Poll! And Not The Stripper Kind!!!

  1. Sarah, I think you should blog about massage. I’d love to hear crazy stories and why it is you enjoy it. I always feel like I am burdening my massage therapist, by just being there and I hate to think of how achy their hands must feel.

  2. Here’s my two-cents-elaboration on the above questions:
    1) Your swear words are part of your unique voice. You shouldn’t force or have to censor yourself outside of regular editing issues
    2) Your blog has worked so far without much in the way of photos. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.
    3) I think jewelry talk would be acceptable as long is it was an organic part of your talking about your life. As for hawking your baubles, you should DEFINITELY continue that, just maybe in a different forum, maybe linked to this one more obviously.
    4) You should post more consistently (like maybe have a set day of a week–like a newspaper column people can look forward to!), and whether that’s more frequently or not, it’s up to you.
    5) I think a blog about massage is a great idea–there’s probably a niche out there for that just waiting for you to fill it! But maybe, again, it should be a separate but related blog. You could remind the readers about it after the regular articles with a link, like your fabulous jewelry!
    6) I’m not so sure about a guest blogger. I think you want to build your own “Sarah brand” first. Establish some more readers and then maybe sneak in a trial guest blog . Or have a guest blogger, but then have your own discussion about it. People come to read about Sarah, after all!
    &) I put “Get in Line,” but that’s hopefully only a temporary phase of my life right now,. I’ve seen plenty of sites that have a gentle link at the bottom for people to “kick in a few sheckels” (as your husband likes to say), and you should absolutely do that!

  3. THANK YOU SO MUCH ERICA!!!!! This is spot on advice, and I will take it!

Leave a Reply

